PDA

View Full Version : Why roaches?

Yano_jl
08-29-2005, 12:09 PM
I'm new to Rhacs, but not geckos.
As such, I have crickets and Mealworms. I don't breed them, I purchase them and keep them as long as they live.

I was wondering why So many of you have chosen to use roaches as live feeders? Is there Something about crix and mealies (or Superworms) that I should know about?

oscar
08-29-2005, 02:26 PM
there's nothing wrong w/ the crix and mealies, its just that roaches has quite a few pluses to using them. they have more protein and less chitin per insect. they are easy to create a breeding colony. they are less smelly than crix.

i havent tried them yet, but am thinking of switching over cause its starting to be a pain keeping so many stinky crickets.. and if i can get them to breed right, then i'll save myself some $$ in the long run too. now i just have to get my wife to agree. lol

Scott

Justin
08-30-2005, 08:30 AM
Hi,
Roaches are better for the reasons that Scott has stated, they are easy to breed, have a mucvh higher meat-shell ratio and don't smell in large numbers.

I breed B. dubia and have found them to be excellent feeder insects.

MiCh@3L
08-30-2005, 08:34 AM
Another good species is Shelfordella tartara. This species is very productive, it can`t climb at glass and isn`t very quick.

Michael

Yano_jl
08-30-2005, 08:54 AM
Thank you all for your replies.
As long as there is nothing wrong with Crix, I may not switch to Roaches. like Oscar stated Above, I may not be able to sell the Idea of a colony of roaches to my wife.

but you all are right, Crix smell horrible. Even just a few days after I clean the container.

oscar
08-30-2005, 01:03 PM
i know. i have about 750 coming tomorrow and NOT looking forward to the stench. someone said that the smell is from the food, but i know i clean out any old food religiously and its still there. i think its the rotting crix that smell so much and/or their waste.