PDA

View Full Version : Advice on what species

Indomitus
11-19-2005, 10:52 PM
Hi all. I didn't know where to put this, so mods, feel free to move it if you want. I'm really new to Geckos, and I am looking for some advice. I have a vivarium in my apartment, and its a good sub-tropical or tropical set up using a standard 20 gallon aquarium. The reason I already have the set up is because I originally had a tadpole that was going to go in there, and he unfortunately died. So here's my question, what kind of Gecko would be best for a beginner for my set-up. Looking through the book I picked up today, the Fat Tailed Geckos caught my eye, but I haven't had a chance to do more than page through that section yet. Any thoughts and advice is very welcome. Thanks.

bleeding_sarcasm
11-20-2005, 07:54 PM
well you have to be slightly more descriptive of what your viv entails. what are the tempuratures? what kind of plants to you have in it? what kind of humidity do you maintain? do you have florescent lighting over it? how much are you willing to do as far as feeding? there are alot of factors that go into get animals. afts are great, they do well in planted tanks, however, they demand a pretty hot basking, so alot of plants arent going to do well in a tank that hot. also, a 20 isnt that big, so i dont you think you could do more then 2 in there, maybe 3 at the most, if you wanted to get into a group. figure out what you have, and what animals youre interested, and what it takes to keep them, then decide what youre willing to do as far as changing what youve got [if you have to]. i would say all reptiles need a basking of some sort. good luck tho, and id like to see some pics if youve got them.

Indomitus
11-22-2005, 12:17 AM