PDA

View Full Version : Why so many Wild caught Geckos?

cooper01
09-15-2008, 10:26 AM
Hello, I'm a masters student in molecular zoology in the US. I have been learning about the business of wild caught animals (of all types) for several years now and have a very large question for all of us gecko enthusiasts: Why (myself included) have we for some reason turned a blind eye to the horrible capture, transport and overall care for the animals that most exporters use? I am the first to know about population and species harvest practices, its not that. I understand that some of these species are great in number where they naturally exist. Why then do we allow some of the most horrible people in the world make so much money off of the capture and sale of our beloved, in this case geckos? I may have a jaded view of the exporter. Do many of you know who you are getting your imports from? Do you know that they are good people and are treating the geckos right? Are they just exporting non threatened animals, or do they have a REAL money making side as well? Please inform me. If this is the case, that you know them, and they are ok I would love to hear that!!! REALLY! For some reason i don't think that is the case. At least give me your view of this topic. Thanks

PassPort
09-15-2008, 11:45 PM
I'm 100% against the mass collecting and importing of any species of animal. I only buy WC if I'm trying to establish a species that isn't readily available in the hobby. If the animals is available as a CB, then I'll fork out the extra cash for one.

cliff_f
09-15-2008, 11:53 PM
I'm 100% against the mass collecting and importing of any species of animal. I only buy WC if I'm trying to establish a species that isn't readily available in the hobby. If the animals is available as a CB, then I'll fork out the extra cash for one.