PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about getting a Leopard Gecko

Jaycies
08-30-2013, 12:27 PM
Hi all,

I am thinking about getting my first leopard gecko and am wondering if you all can tell me what it's like to have one of these cute little peeps? :)

ChiTea
08-30-2013, 02:33 PM
hi Jaycies,

Welcome! I'm still a newbie too, but I've learned SO MUCH from this site - everyone has been super helpful whenever I've had a question, and Elizabeth Freer has compiled a very helpful care sheet (I'm sure she'll chime in and post a link ;-) )

My first piece of advice would be to make sure you research all of the things needed to make a proper set-up - do not buy a ready made kit from the pet store. Make sure you have the space for (at least) a 20 gallon long tank (30" x 12" x 12") - that is the minimum tank size recommended for a leopard gecko. All of the materials needed for set up can also be costly, so make sure you can afford everything at once.

I love my little leopard gecko. I recently inherited him and he's the cutest thing ever. I had to get used to feeding him live crickets - super gross at first (I usually have to feed him by hand) but now it's no big deal. Leopard geckos don't like to be handled much, so if you're looking for a pet to cuddle with every day, this is not for you. But after a while, they'll get used to you - mine actually likes it when I pet his back.

There's lots of experienced leo owners on here, so I'm sure you'll get some good advice from them, too. Good luck!

GeckoManiac91
08-31-2013, 01:02 AM
Welcome to GU :)

ChiTea pretty much covered all of it ;) She learns fast :D

As said by her, contrary to what people believe, these geckos don't "like to be handled", they tame out nicely to tolerate it but have no need for interaction. Not to throw you off from these amazing animals!

Don't mean to steal the show from Elizabeth but here is a link to her care sheet :coverlaugh: