Hybrid Curiosity

caleytkd

Hello everyone,
Let me just begin by saying that I do not currently breed geckos, and that when I eventually do begin breeding I WILL NOT be breeding any hybrids. I am creating this thread because I am relatively new to the gecko community and would like to further educate myself before forming an opinion on the matter.

[Side story] I have had a few tarantulas and I know it is extremely taboo to breed hybrids in the tarantula community (and I understand why) and I just always assumed for some reason that it would be the same in various reptile communities. But today as I was perusing the net looking at different gecko breeders I found a place (which I will not name, in order to prevent any negative attention to them) that not only breeds, but readily SELLS hybrid Rhacs.

[Back to the point] I'm really not sure how I feel about this. (I don't know enough to say I disagree with it, but it made me feel kinda funny that these are being sold to the public.) I mean, sure some of them are very interesting to look at. But I have some questions:

Does this harm the gecko in any way? Does it increase the risk of genetic deformities? Not only that, but if it falls into the wrong hands would it be possible to potentially ruin the genetics of another species that is already extremely hard to find? How does it effect the genetics of the species crossed? What are the scientific benefits, if any, of mixing two species? If there are any valid benefits, how would they help the gecko world or our understanding of it?

I am genuinely asking these questions to learn from those of you more experienced than myself [and I apologize if any of the questions seem stupid lol]. Please explain your view on the subject and your reasoning behind it.