baby leopard gecko severely emaciated, not taking food.

kawaiirorschach`

about a week ago, i bought a pair of leopard geckos, and one of them is doing fine (eating & pooping well, socializing nicely, climbing around and exploring, etc) but the other seems very unhealthy.

i'm fairly certain the store sold them to me too young, and since this is my first time keeping geckos (though i have owned snakes before) i didn't realize there was an issue until newton (the sickly one) started on a rapid decline. as far as i can tell, in the 9 days since i've had him, he's only eaten a few mealworms and (maybe) a small cricket or two. he'll drink water sometimes, but has no appetite whatsoever, and it's showing. i can see his spine, and it seems like his body's starting to shut down (his back legs don't seem to be working right and he's very lethargic). in addition, i've noticed him doing something with his throat that looks like coughing, and he's constantly stretching his jaw and making strange popping noises.

i'm using calcium-based sand as a substrate (the same brand as they were used to in the store), and keep their tank at about 82 degrees to offset the chill of the recent snow we've been having. they have a rock hide on one end of the tank, right under their heat lamp, which has two bulbs: a low wattage infrared night light and a uv light. i've been feeding them mealworms (which neither seem to like very much, but will eat), and small crickets, which the healthy one devours, but the other one won't even touch. he'll even flinch away when one hops too close to him. i've tried separating them so that he'll have a chance to hunt without the stronger one chasing him off, but all i can get him to take in is water.

if he doesn't eat anything within the next few hours, i'm going to take him in to see a vet, but i was wondering first if you fine folk know anything that could help. supplements? an under the tank heater? different food? any input would be much appreciated.